Lost Password?
No account yet? Register
J/24 Texas
Home of the Texas Regatta Circuit
2015 Texas Circuit
2015 Official Documents
2015 Notice of Circuit

March 21-22 ~ GBCA Performance Cup
Hosted by GBCA and Fleet 5
Galveston Bay, Seabrook, TX



April 18-19 ~ Cowtown Stampede & USJCA Southwest Regional Championship

Registration ~ Food Only

Hosted by FWBC and DCYC and Fleet 54
Lake Lewisville, Oak Point, TX
Due to low water at FWBC, this event will be held at DCYC, but run by FWBC


May 2-3 ~ Corinthian/Heritage Cup Regatta


Hosted by Dallas Corinthian Yacht Club and Fleet 163
Lake Lewisville, Oak Point, TX

June 6-7 ~ Surfin' Safari
Hosted by Corpus Christi Yacht Club and Fleet 3
Corpus Christi Bay, Corpus Christi, TX
September 19-20 ~ Houston Offshore One Design (HOOD)
Hosted by Houston Yacht Club and Fleet 5
Galveston Bay, La Porte, TX
October 10-11 ~ J/Fest Southwest
Hosted by Lakewood Yacht Club and Fleet 5
Galveston Bay, Kemah, TX
November 21-22 ~ Texas Circus
Hosted by Lake Canyon Yacht Club and Fleet 9
Canyon Lake, Canyon Lake, TX
Links to Class Documents

Link to Class Rules
Link to Inventory of Required and Optional Equipment
Link to Measurement Forms
Link to US J/24 Class Website


UK-Halsey Houston
Latest UK Rules Quiz
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
Promote your event, product or services to J/24 sailors in Texas and around the Web.
Get Your Bow Numbers!
Written by Tonja Holmes-Moon   

It's almost time to get those new Bow Nos. on your boat for the 2015 Circuit Season!! Bow Nos. 1-10 are reserved, as are Bow Nos. that are routinely used.

Need a Bow No.? Check out this list for your new number and be sure to email Tonja at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it with your number so the list can be updated.

Bow No. List

James Freedman Wins GBCA Performance Cup
Written by Tonja Holmes-Moon   

The first circuit stop of the J/24 Texas Circuit was hosted by GBCA during their Performance Cup Regatta from March 20-22.

Twelve J/24s representing two yacht clubs, Dallas Corinthian Yacht Club and Austin Yacht Club, competed in Galveston Bay during the two-day racing event.

On Friday, with the weather forecast looking ominous and rainy for Saturday, all competitors were prepared to participate in some wet racing. What we were not prepared for was a full day of non-stop raining. At times, the downpour was so hard that you could not see a quarter mile ahead of your boat. However, with temperatures around 71 degrees and winds holding steady between 5 and 8 knots from the North to NNE, racing was a go. The race committee was able to complete three races and was ready to run a fourth before the fleet collectively decided to head to shore to dry out.

Sunday the competitors were treated to a warm and dry day with temperatures around 75 and winds between 10 and 12 knots mostly from the WNW. Two races were completed on Sunday.

James Freedman

There were several newcomers to the Texas Circuit as it continues to grow with new competitors. One of our fairly new competitors, James Freedman on Miss Conduct, made his presence known by finishing with 3 bullets, a second and third to clinch the win for the J/24 fleet and the overall GBCA Performance Cup. Finishing in second was Natalie Penner on GIGGLES, and third was Kelly Holmes-Moon on BadMoon. Winning the tiebreaker for fourth place was David Broadway on Superman, with John Parker on Chupacabra in fifth. Full results can be found on the J/24 Texas website at www.j24texas.com.

A huge thank you goes to GBCA and the Seabrook Shipyard for hosting this event, and to the competitors who traveled to compete in the first J/24 Texas Circuit stop of 2015.

2014 Texas Circuit Winners - Team Tropical Aggression
Written by Bob Harden   

A Congratulations is in order to Stuart Lindow and his Tropical Aggression Team in winning the 2014 Texas Circuit Championship.  Babe Ruth once said “It’s hard to beat the person who never gives up”, which seems fitting, knowing how many years Team Tropical Aggression has just kept stepping up to the plate.  In addition, quite unique to the 2014 Championship, is the fact that five different teams had a legitimate chance at becoming 2014 Circuit champions going into the last regatta of the year, the Texas Circus at Lake Canyon Yacht Club.  As a testament to the competitiveness, each of the five leading teams had won one or more individual regattas during 2014.  A smorgasbord of winning teams!Along a common occurrence, it came down to the last race to determine the winner.

With great sailing early in the regatta, Juan Mauri and Team sr. happy ensured the winning team would have to earn the championship in the last race.

Congratulations to our 2014 Champion and the top 5 competitors in the Texas Circuit for 2014!!

1st place - Team Tropical Aggression, Stuart Lindow
2nd place - Team sr. happy, Juan Mauri
3rd place - Team RumLine, Bryan and Vicki Dyer
4th place - Team GIGGLES, Natalie Penner
5th place - Team Bad Moon, Kelly Holmes-Moon


2014 Southwest Championship Winners - Team Bad Moon
Written by Tonja Holmes-Moon   

On May 17-18, 2014, Fleet 163 and Dallas Corinthian Yacht Club (DCYC) hosted the District 14 Southwest Championship Regatta. The winner of this championship would win a berth to the 2015 Worlds in Germany. This regatta took place in conjunction with DCYC’s annual Corinthian Heritage Cup Regatta and the third circuit stop of the J/24 Texas Circuit. Fourteen boats competed in the Southwest Championship, and it was full of tight racing.

BM Only 4 races were to be had due to lack of wind on Saturday, and at the start of Race 4, scoring for the top spot was still pretty tight: Bad Moon 9 points, Tropical Aggression 11 points, sr. happy 13 points. The Champion could still be any of these boats. As the boats rounded marks and swapped places up and downwind, once the leaders crossed the finish line, a clear winner emerged.

Congratulations to the 2014 Southwest Championship winners on Team Bad Moon, Kelly Holmes-Moon, Farin Smith, David Haslip, Brittany Smith, and Andrew Theismann.

Places 2nd through 5th were: 2nd – Stuart Lindow, Tropical Aggression; 3rd – Juan Mauri, sr. happy; 4th – After Midnight; 5th – Natalie Penner, GIGGLES.

Bow Numbers for the Texas Circuit
Written by Tonja Holmes-Moon   

Below will describe how to affix your bow numbers for the Texas Circuit regattas.

For scoring and identification of boats, unique bow numbers are required to be fixed to both external port and starboard sides of the forward bow area of each competing boat’s hull. These numbers must be affixed as follows:

a)     The leading edge of the forward number shall be 12” aft of the stem.

b)      The top edge of both numbers shall be 6” from the rail.

c)     All numbers must contrast with the color of the hull and be at least 12" in height.

bow no

It is the responsibility of each participating boat to obtain and affix their bow numbers to their yacht.

Bow numbers will be assigned to each participating boat for the duration of the Circuit year. Bow numbers 01 through 10 are pre-assigned to the top ten (10)boats based on previous year’s circuit standings.

Bow numbers 11 through 99 are available for boats on a first come basis. Bow numbers 11 through 99 used in the previous circuit year will be reserved for the boat that declared it in that previous year. Numbers used in the previous circuit year can be found at www.j24texas.com under Standings.

Bow numbers for the current Circuit are considered declared once a boat has registered for a regatta using the declared bow number. Issues relating to bow numbers (e.g. assignment, placement, size, etc.) will be resolved solely by the Governor. 

To view bow numbers that have been used the prior year, click on this link

nanopaint protection . Appliance Repair Rockville MD